MEMORANDUM FOR United States Army Police Professionals 

SUBJECT: FY19 MG Bandholtz Award Winners 

  1. Each year since 1970, the Office of the Provost Marshal General has recognized the hits in the Army. This year, the award was renamed to the Major General Harry H. Bandholtz Award in honor of MG Bandholtz, whose efforts during World War I established the Military Police Corps as a vital asset and a necessary function within the U.S. Army, and therefore paved the way for the formal creation of the Military Police Corps.
  2. We are proud to announce the FY19 winners of the MG Bandholtz Award

a. 59th Military Police Company, Fort Carson, Colorado and currently deployed in support of Atlantic Resolve. The 59th MP Company previously won this recognition in 2008. During FY19, the 59th MP CO simultaneously conducted Law Enforcement Operations and Military Police collective training at Fort Carson while preparing to deploy. Within two weeks of deploying to Germany, the unit deployed to Hungary in support of a theater level exercise with U.S. Allied Partners. The Warriorsalso supported three Maneuver Units during Combat Training Center rotations

b. 262d Military Police Detachment (CID), Grafenwoehr, Germany. The 262d MP Detachment is the first investigations detachment to win this Award. While geographically dispersed across the state of Bavaria, the three CID Offices that comprise the Detachment, provided critical support to the expeditionary CID Office in Poland and other U.S. Army units throughout Eastern Europe. They have presence and lethality, mitigating high risk behavior within the ranks through education, deterrence, and investigation. In addition, the Detachment built and maintained robust relationships with host national law enforcement agencies and inter-governmental organizations throughout Europe. 

c. 34th Military Police Company, Stillwater, Minnesota. The 34th MP Company is the first Army National Guard Unit to win this Award. Throughout FY19, the professional leaders and Soldiers of the 34th MP CO proved to be an invaluable asset to the 34th Infantry Division and the Minnesota Army National Guard. One of their many highlights was their overwhelming success during the FY19 Norway/United States Reciprocal Troop Exchange mission. Their success in this multinational training exercise led to recognition from across the National Guard Leadership.

  1. In another first, this year OPMG and MPRA partnered to award the Military Police Corps Excellence in Education MPRA Scholarship for one NCO per year. This year‘s winner is SSG Jonathan W. Sanchez, HQs, USACIDC. SSG Sanchez competed against and was selected over multiple Noncommissioned Officers. SSG Sanchez consistently displays the highest degree of professionalism and is the epitome of what is expected from a Noncommissioned Officer. SSG Sanchez will receive $2,000 for education expenses, a new laptop, and a trophy from MPRA. 
  2. Congratulations to all the winners! 
  3. Winning Matters! Of the Troops, For the Troops! 

LARRY H. ORVIS JR SGM, USA Provost Marshal Sergeant Major 

KEVIN VEREEN Major General, USA Provost Marshal General